Scotland's colleges 2015

College mergers





Structural Reform ¹	Region	Incorporated colleges prior to regionalisation	2012-13 merger dates	Current incorporated colleges
Four college regions already contained one college and have been unaffected by mergers	Borders	Borders	N/A	Borders College
	Central	Forth Valley	N/A	Forth Valley College
	Dumfries and Galloway	Dumfries and Galloway	N/A	Dumfries and Galloway College
	West Lothian	West Lothian	N/A	West Lothian College
Six colleges were created from mergers to create six single college regions	Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire	• Aberdeen	November 2013	North East Scotland College
		Banff and Buchan		
	Ayrshire	Ayr	August 2013	Ayrshire College
		 Kilmarnock 		
		 James Watt (North Ayrshire campuses) 		
	Edinburgh	 Edinburgh's Telford 	October 2012	Edinburgh College
		 Jewel and Esk 		
		 Stevenson 		
	Fife	 Adam Smith 	August 2013	Fife College
		 Carnegie 		
		 Elmwood (non-land based courses) 		
	Tayside	• Angus	November 2013	Dundee and Angus College
		 Dundee 		
	West	 Clydebank 	August 2013	West College Scotland
		Reid Kerr		
		 James Watt (Inverclyde campuses) 		
Cont.				

Structural Reform ¹	Region	Incorporated colleges prior to regionalisation	2012-13 merger dates	Current incorporated colleges
One region comprises a federation of two colleges, within which three colleges merged to form a new college	Lanarkshire	CoatbridgeCumbernauldMotherwellSouth Lanarkshire	November 2013 /April 2014 ²	New College LanarkshireSouth Lanarkshire College
The Glasgow region comprises three colleges formed from a series of mergers. The three colleges are accountable to the Glasgow Colleges Regional Board	Glasgow	City of Glasgow	N/A	City of Glasgow College
		John WheatleyNorth GlasgowStowAnniesland	November 2013 August 2013	Glasgow Kelvin College Glasgow Clyde College
		CardonaldLangside		
One region comprises the five other incorporated colleges and eight other colleges and research institutes that make up The University of Highlands and Islands (UHI)	The Highlands and Islands (UHI acts as the regional college board)	InvernessLews CastleMorayNorth HighlandPerth	N/A	 Inverness Lews Castle Moray North Highland Perth (operating as UHI campuses)

^{1.} Barony College, Oatridge College and Elmwood College (land-based courses) merged with the Scottish Agricultural College on 1 October 2012 to form SRUC, a new higher education institution focused on rural and land-based education.

2. Cumbernauld College and Motherwell College merged in November 2013 to form New College Lanarkshire.

On 1 April 2014, Cumbernauld College also merged into this institution.